?

Log in

No account? Create an account
 
 
14 March 2011 @ 03:27 pm
Etsy Users Beware  
Etsy exposes user information without warning.

Excerpt:

What would you do if you registered on a site to buy something, only to find months later that your user account was searchable and your purchases were exposed? That scenario is currently playing out for Etsy users, who are dealing with the fallout from Etsy's decision to roll out a new People Search tool. The site, dedicated to enabling crafters and artisans to sell their work online, has yet to notify its user base of the change that exposes users' real names and buying history.

The controversy began last week when Etsy flipped the switch on People Search as part of its effort to make Etsy feel more like a social network. Now, when users run a search for a person's full name, that user's account will show up in the search results, even if that person is only a buyer. The goal is to allow users to connect to each other and create "Circles," which then allow users to see which products their friends have favorited or purchased on Etsy.

The problem is that, aside from a thread in Etsy's forums (which is almost entirely used by sellers, not buyers), Etsy has not notified users of the change in privacy settings or policy.


Note: I just went to Etsy and under settings and privacy I selected that only I could see my info.

ETA: Today they reversed themselves after getting user feedback:

http://www.etsy.com/storque/handmade-life/rethinking-feedback-12472/?ref=fp_blog_post
Tags: ,
 
 
 
danaewintersdanaewinters on March 14th, 2011 10:39 pm (UTC)
Yikes! Glad you posted this!! I've got to get to my account and start making some changes. Now.
Tapatitapati on March 15th, 2011 05:06 am (UTC)
One of my fb friends linked to this and I knew I had readers who use etsy too.
Tapatitapati on March 15th, 2011 09:50 pm (UTC)
Today they reversed themselves after getting user feedback:

http://www.etsy.com/storque/handmade-life/rethinking-feedback-12472/?ref=fp_blog_post
equani_tsulaequani_tsula on March 15th, 2011 07:40 am (UTC)
eek
I have an Etsy account, although I've never actually ended up using it. I'm going to post the link on my FB though as I know a lot of my friends are on there. Thanks for spreading the word!
Tapatitapati on March 15th, 2011 09:50 pm (UTC)
Re: eek
Today they reversed themselves after getting user feedback:

http://www.etsy.com/storque/handmade-life/rethinking-feedback-12472/?ref=fp_blog_post
W. Lotus: Peacefulwlotus on March 15th, 2011 02:45 pm (UTC)
Oh, good grief...thank you for the warning. I need to check this out.

I can't help but think at some point there will be a social backlash against this new idea of sharing any and all information someone enters on your site. People may stop shopping online as much as they currently do.
Tapatitapati on March 15th, 2011 09:50 pm (UTC)
Today they reversed themselves after getting user feedback:

http://www.etsy.com/storque/handmade-life/rethinking-feedback-12472/?ref=fp_blog_post
W. Lotus: Peacefulwlotus on March 21st, 2011 02:18 am (UTC)
What a relief! Thank you for the link.
lunaetstellaelunaetstellae on March 16th, 2011 06:33 am (UTC)
Thanks for posting this; i was unaware, and have gone in to make the necessary changes.