Tapati (tapati) wrote,


Just got an email purporting to be from Chase credit cards about suspicious activity on my account. Funny thing, I have no Chase account.

It gave a URL for me to go and find out more. The url looks like a chase.com url, but if you put your cursor over it and look at the bar down below, it is clearly NOT a chase.com url.

We all get these from time to time, emails trying to use the logo and name of a legitimate business to make us go to their web site where they can get info from us or insert a virus on our hard drive, etc.

Call the company if you think it's legit and check. Do not respond on the internet to any such messages!

Just thought I'd pass this on for anyone who hasn't heard about these scams. I passed the info on to Chase as well.
Tags: fraud, hackers, internet safety, phishing, spam

  • LJ instituted tag limit

    Those of us who read the LJ biz group to keep up with changes missed hearing about the new limits on the number of different tags that may be used.…

  • LJ search tip

    Passing this on--since the default for the search box on LJ is by interest, if you put your own user name in your list of interests people will be…

  • Wish I had the money right now...

    The Permanent Account sale starts Thursday, June 21st. That's right, for only $150 you can get LiveJournal for life. Check out the benefits: *…

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.